age gap support community


OUR SPONSOR: Best Young and Old Dating - perfect and safe on-line community for the young and old singles to meet and find exciting romances, warm companionship and more!






All Ageless Members – Please Read

last1standing
03-12-2004, 01:31 PM
Several members have received e-mails in the last 48 hours telling them that they were to be “banned from this site (Ageless) in two days.” While this situation does share some similarities to the one that the site Administrator described in his “Announcement: AOL Users – Please Read” post on 01-11-2004, there are sufficient differences that we have had to at least recognize and investigate the possibility that these most recent messages are some form of prank by a current or ex Ageless member. We’ll know soon enough, and if that turns out to be the case, the site administrator will deal with the situation accordingly.

In the meantime, if any member receives a notice by PM or e-mail telling them that they are to be banned from Ageless, please save the message and contact one or more of the site moderators (Joannalee, last1standing, MariaLux, EMCAD80, Meralove23, rollsharley, Dan Shues) via PM, e-mail, or instant messenger. In light of this situation, the site moderation staff will be making an even grater effort to keep each other informed about any pending moderation actions, and should be able to put any such concerns to rest quickly.

Thanks everyone,

Last1standing

Genevieve
03-12-2004, 04:38 PM
I am getting the same message after I post as well, but my posts show up. Wierd. :confused: I have AOL too.

marcy
03-12-2004, 05:20 PM
This sounds a bit like a couple of viruses that are going around.

whiterose
03-12-2004, 06:46 PM
I have AOL too, but I'm not getting any messages.

joshkdn007
03-12-2004, 08:01 PM
i haven't received the messages only ever now and then i have
problems with chat but i know its different

Patricia
03-12-2004, 08:24 PM
OK, I am testing since I have AOL, too. I will see what it tells me when I post this.

Patricia
03-12-2004, 08:26 PM
Nothing unusual happened.

Jo-Admin
03-13-2004, 12:57 AM
Maybe we should investigate Marcy's comment about the virus possibility. We do have members here who email each other away from the boards, and that would facilitate the passing of a virus. Let me see if I can find out anything in that area.

I just want to reassure everyone no-one has been banned here, and I know of no-one on the verge of being banned at this moment.

Dan_Shues
03-13-2004, 01:02 AM
The Virus would have to be awfully specific, Jody....

I've been in contact via email with both Sage and Hadley...both whom have had this happen to them. And, my anti-virus program did not go off once...

If anything, the virus would have to be on the Admin's computer, since that is where the messages are supposedly originating from...

What needs to be done, is get ahold of one of these email messages...and look at the header information...see if there are any discernable IP Addresses...

bellachella1
03-13-2004, 01:40 AM
headers can be altered...easily enough too.
i am a site adminsitrator for another website, and vb3 turns out to be virtually hackproof...that is the good part. but we also had a similar situation pop up, still on one of the vb2 series...and it turned out to be a prank...not sure the specifics of what you are getting, but if you have the information on the poster and you need it checked into, i might be able to help you out with that...i have some good tracer software for this purpose...:)


BC

bellachella1
03-13-2004, 01:42 AM
hey...when does a neophyte get to be an actual member?

marcy
03-13-2004, 09:49 AM
Check out the bagel virus...

It propogates by sending an e=mail with a phoney sender... from e-mail or address book.

I have gotten several of these already ...

from:

administration@yahoo.com
staff@mvh.org
sales@pixelbuild.com

and I have read about people getting them from Paypal too.

Our IT staff has been killing themselves getting rid of this stuff. The e-mails always say your account is about to be terminated or something to that effect and there is an attachment with "info". When you open this attachment... your computer is infected.

The above does sound a bit similar.

Dan_Shues
03-13-2004, 10:05 AM
bellachella1,

I think I know what you're talking about...

I actually seen a prank somewhat like it on another board, except what was done, was done in a malicious manner to use up another board's bandwidth...like a glorified DOS attack...

Jo-Admin
03-13-2004, 10:14 AM
Dan and I were up pretty late last night looking into this thing, and I am pretty sure your right...a form of that virus is probably what we are looking at.

Thanks for the heads up. Dang, where do these people learn to do this stuff???? *grimace*


EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum