Patricia
04-10-2004, 02:20 PM
I received an email from "Mailer-Daemon@ns1.activered.com" entitled "Mail delivery failed: returning message to sender" reading:
This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.
A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:
band@dividedmusic.com
This message has been rejected because it has
a potentially executable attachment "all_document.pif"
This form of attachment has been used by
recent viruses or other malware.
If you meant to send this file then please
package it up as a zip file and resend it.
Then, it has a whole bunch of other mail info and then says this:
Content-Type: application/octet-stream;
name="all_document.pif"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: base64
Content-Disposition: attachment;
filename="all_document.pif"
Then, it just gives a bunch of numbers and letters together.
Does this mean that I got a virus and it tried to mail itself out? I do not have that band address in my address book. I have no idea who they are, so how would a virus be able to mail itself out to that address? No one else has emailed me saying they received a virus file from my address. Norton does not show a virus. I checked out the file name "all_document.pif" and it does look like it is the Netsky virus, but why can't Norton find it when I scan? Could this be a virus hoax message? I tried to go to "www.ns1.activered.com", but it doesn't seem to exist. Any ideas?
This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.
A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:
band@dividedmusic.com
This message has been rejected because it has
a potentially executable attachment "all_document.pif"
This form of attachment has been used by
recent viruses or other malware.
If you meant to send this file then please
package it up as a zip file and resend it.
Then, it has a whole bunch of other mail info and then says this:
Content-Type: application/octet-stream;
name="all_document.pif"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: base64
Content-Disposition: attachment;
filename="all_document.pif"
Then, it just gives a bunch of numbers and letters together.
Does this mean that I got a virus and it tried to mail itself out? I do not have that band address in my address book. I have no idea who they are, so how would a virus be able to mail itself out to that address? No one else has emailed me saying they received a virus file from my address. Norton does not show a virus. I checked out the file name "all_document.pif" and it does look like it is the Netsky virus, but why can't Norton find it when I scan? Could this be a virus hoax message? I tried to go to "www.ns1.activered.com", but it doesn't seem to exist. Any ideas?

