AgeMatch.com - the best dating site for inter-generational lovers!  

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By degausser

Thread: He's Only Ten Years Older Than Me, But Mother Doesn't Approve (23 vs. 33)

blueingreen88 is offline Neophyte

He's Only Ten Years Older Than Me, But Mother Doesn't Approve (23 vs. 33)

I am 23 years old, I graduated from college a year ago and I'm just starting out, still building up my savings, building up my credit. SO unfortunately I still am living at home and under my parents rules even though I'm technically an adult.

I met this guy online and we've been talking since 2009, we plan to meet (in a public/safe place) for the first time this year. I have never had such an emotional connection, we can talk on the phone for hours. He is sweet, gentle, caring and ambitious, but all my mother sees is that he's ten years older than me. I am 23, he is 33 and it's not that large of an age gap...down the line no one would even bat an eye about it. When I'm 40 and he's 50 no one would even care, but my mother would rather that I be single, childless and lonely than get serious with him. He recently sent me an expensive gift and my mother went ballistic because she said that he was probably just trying to get into my pants. I've never been sexually active, but if things go well and if he turns out to be as cute and kind in person as he is on the phone, I will surely be sexually active soon. My mother was married when she was my age, my grandmother was married even younger, but I feel like my mother just doesn't want me to make my own decisions. She wants to control who I date and won't even give the guy a chance...because she says he's too old for me.

Now, we are both wondering how is this going to work when we meet and if we hit it off..are we even going to be able to carry our relationship to the next level when my family is against the age gap..?

thatoneperson is offline Senior Member