What's new
Ageless Love

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

23, 46 and having a rough go of it

ellekennedie

So I met my partner two years ago when I was about to turn 21 an he was turning 44. It was an instant, intense connection the likes of which neither of us had ever experienced before. To try to make a long story shorter, the relationship was long-distance for the majority of the first year because I was traveling and then living at home in another country. But last year I moved to his country and moved in with him while I completed a postgraduate degree. So we've been living together for a year and I can count on two hands the number of times we've had sex. When we first met, sex wasn't an issue. We were totally on fire for one another, we made love at least once a day, oftentimes even more than that. He says that in the last year he's just lost his desire and his interest in sex. I most assuredly have not, and I am really struggling to come to terms with that. I'm desperate for the sense of emotional and spiritual connection that we had when we made love, and of course I'm also feeling pretty desperate for physical contact. Our emotional relationship can be quite complicated even without the sex issues -- both of us struggle with depression and anxiety and we both have vastly different coping methods -- but at the end of the day, I adore him, and I know that he adores me. He worries that he is holding me back, that I'm missing out on better experiences and he is constantly reminding me that one day I will move on. And he's not bitter or angry about that, in fact he wants me to move on, but I know that it will happen when I'm ready, and that's not now. I have very few friends who I feel could give me good advice, and my parents are not exactly our